DL

Last Entry & Next Entry

Tip #2 - Listen To Your Body

Posted on 2009-08-21 at 3:56 a.m..

Health Blog
August 21st 2009
by Raederle Phoenix West

How do I avoid poisons?
Firstly, and more importantly, I pay close attention to the signs my body gives me. Notice your reactions to foods that you're eating - one minute after, ten minutes after, two hours, one day. You'll notice patterns, sooner or later.


For quite some time now, I've only eaten foods with no added sugar, with the exception of honey.

But before I decided to be so strict about sugar, I used to eat food products with small amounts of cane sugar, or molasses, or brown sugar.

The first one of those three I eliminated was brown sugar, when I had a desert on a holiday that was home made and only sweetened with brown sugar.

The desert was so good that I had seconds, and then, shortly after finishing my second I began to sweat profusely (despite having been cold, it was January at the time), and then my stomach began to hurt. I began to burp constantly (which was a symptom I had experienced in the past but had not recently), which became increasingly painful.

I was playing a board game at the time, and ended up going to the bathroom repeatedly as my symptoms continued to get worse. I began to not only be in pain, but to also be nauseous. I ended up forcing my myself to vomit which is something I had never done before or have I done since.

I immediately began to feel somewhat better, although I did not feel entirely recovered until the following morning.

I stopped eating molasses after a similar case with another home made dish only sweetened with molasses.

I also used to eat a large variety of organic granola and chocolate bars only using cane sugar. However, I noticed that when I didn't eat either of those for a period of time that I would have increased energy and alertness, which resulted in the policy of no sugars except honey.

Now, just this week, I decided to purchase two organic granolas, one without any added sugar at all, and one with some cane sugar, and mixed them. The combination was a complete winner for my taste buds, and I went on to finish the mixture of the two boxes in four days.

Now I'm noticing a canker-sore coming in (which are often caused by sugar, and I've also come to believe by weed - but modern medicine won't tell you that), and I've also felt sluggish, less energetic and over all fairly tired the past few days. I was blaming this on heat originally, but then I realized that it was also really hot two weeks ago, and I was just showering a lot and dealing with it.

Also, the very telling burps have been evident in the past couple of days. I don't have a doubt that it was due to the sugar in the granola, despite being "organic cane sugar."

The fact is, we're not meant to eat pure sugar. We're meant to eat the amount of sugar that comes in common, natural, whole foods. For thousands of years, we survived (at a much greater level of health - we only died sooner due to lack of antibiotics) on mostly vegetables and some fruits, and some meats. Sugar was an extremely rare treat, as in, once in many years.

The more of it you can eliminate from your system (from your diet), the better off you'll be.

To your health,
-Raederle Phoenix West

Search My Sites